Parenthood and Ethnomusicology

This week, Liza, Ana, and I are very pleased to introduce Diana Gutiérrez. While pursuing a master’s degree in “Choreomundus: International Master in Dance Knowledge, Practice and Heritage,” Diana created a short video that summarizes her experiences of parenthood and dance education for children.

Bailando con mi hijo

I am a Colombian anthropologist, dancer, mother and dreamer who tries hard to balance my interests in life. I am married with a wonderful man that has helped me taking care of my three-year old lovely boy, while I studied a Master in Dance and Anthropology in Europe. I did an intercultural research in France and Colombia on dance heritage transmission with children.

I am currently leading a Project called Semillas del Patrimonio (Seeds of Heritage), a collaborative resource network in Colombia for at-risk youth dealing through body practices, local knowledge, intercultural encounters and sustainable artistic productions. My hope is that, through the project, these children can, not only have voice and visibility, but also a life alternative.

Leave a Reply

